TrademarksHubThe worldwide trademark network

Country guide · Updated October 2026

Trademark registration in Monaco

Who registers trademarks in Monaco, what it costs, how long it takes and what foreign owners need — with links to the official sources and IP firms that can file for you.

Find a trademark firm in Monaco

Quick answer

Trademarks in Monaco are registered with the Monaco Industrial Property Office (MCIPO); the official filing fee is EUR 120 for up to 3 classes. A registration lasts 10 years from the filing date and can be renewed. Monaco can be designated through the Madrid System.

Checked against official sources on 11 October 2026 · see sources

Office
MCIPO
Official fee
EUR 120 / up to 3 classes
Madrid Protocol
Member since 1996
Opposition
No opposition procedure exists in Monaco
Protection
10 years from filing date
Multi-class filing
Allowed

Featured trademark firms in Monaco

Featured places go to the firms with the highest monthly bid. Bid for a place →

Official fees in Monaco

Official feeAmount
Filing, up to 3 classesEUR 120
Filing, each class beyond the thirdEUR 35
Renewal, up to 3 classes
Renewal in the 6 months after expiry: +50% late surcharge
EUR 180
Renewal, each class beyond the thirdEUR 35
Recordal in the Special Register (e.g. assignment, licence)
Per title
EUR 35
Search of marks in force (per word mark, figurative mark or holder)EUR 30

Official office fees only (schedule as of 2024-04). Official fee schedule. Professional fees of a local firm are extra — compare fixed-fee packages.

How to register a trademark in Monaco

  1. Check availability of the sign using the Office's databases or its paid prior-mark search service.
  2. File the application with the Monaco Industrial Property Office in person on the official form, or online if the applicant or agent is domiciled in Monaco, listing goods and services by class and paying the filing fee.
  3. If filing through a representative, attach a power of attorney (regulatory, special or general).
  4. The Office examines formalities and absolute grounds (e.g. distinctiveness, deceptiveness, public order) within two months of filing; irregularities must be corrected within 8 days (formal) or 15 days (substantive) of notification.
  5. There is no publication of the application and no opposition procedure.
  6. The Office registers the mark no later than three months after filing, enters it in the national register, publishes it in the Annexe to the Journal de Monaco and issues a registration certificate.

Examination, publication and opposition

  • Examination: MCIPO examines formalities and absolute grounds for refusal within two months of filing; it does not state that it examines earlier rights.
  • Publication: Registrations are published in the Annexe to the Journal de Monaco; applications are not published
  • Opposition period: No opposition procedure exists in Monaco
  • Typical timeline: Registration no later than three months after the filing date, according to MCIPO

Protection, renewal and use

  • Term: 10 years from the filing date, renewable.
  • Late renewal: 6 months after the anniversary date, with a late surcharge of 50% of the renewal fee

Filing from abroad

  • Local agent: Online filing and renewal are restricted to persons or agents domiciled in Monaco; others file on paper with the Office. Whether applicants domiciled abroad must appoint a Monaco-based representative could not be verified.
  • Power of attorney: A representative must attach a power of attorney, which may be regulatory, special or general. Notarisation or legalisation requirements are not stated.

Firms on TrademarksHub that cover Monaco can act as your local agent — see firms.

Madrid Protocol

Monaco is a member of the Madrid System (in force since 1996). You can designate it in an international application filed through your home office, or file a national application directly. A local firm can advise which route is cheaper for your classes and timeline.

Trademark classes

Nice Classification; the basic filing and renewal fees cover up to three classes. One application can cover several classes. Not sure which classes you need? See all 45 classes or classes by business type.

How Monaco compares

Guides: registering in any country · costs by country · Madrid

Good to know in Monaco

  • There is no opposition procedure and applications are not published before registration, so owners of earlier rights must act after registration.
  • MCIPO states it registers marks no later than three months after filing when the application has no irregularities.
  • The basic filing fee of EUR 120 covers up to three classes; each extra class costs EUR 35.
  • MCIPO does not send renewal reminders; renewal can be made in the six months before the anniversary date, or in the six months after with a 50% surcharge.
  • The online filing service is only available to applicants or agents domiciled in Monaco.

Questions

How much does it cost to register a trademark in Monaco?
MCIPO charges EUR 120 to file an application covering up to three classes and EUR 35 for each additional class. These are official fees only.
How long does trademark registration take in Monaco?
According to MCIPO, a mark is registered no later than three months after the filing date if the application has no irregularities.
Is there a trademark opposition procedure in Monaco?
No. Monaco has no opposition procedure and applications are not published before registration; registrations are published in the Annexe to the Journal de Monaco.
Is Monaco part of the Madrid Protocol?
Yes. The Madrid Protocol has been in force for Monaco since 27 September 1996.
How long does a trademark last in Monaco?
Protection lasts 10 years from the filing date and is renewable for further 10-year periods. The renewal fee is EUR 180 for up to three classes, with a 50% surcharge if renewed in the six months after expiry.